15th NA's 6th session: Parliament passes resolution on results of vote of confidence

On October 25 afternoon, the National Assembly (NA) adopted a resolution confirming the results of the vote of confidence on the persons holding the positions it elected or approved.
15th NA's 6th session: Parliament passes resolution on results of vote of confidence
15th NA's 6th session: Legislators press buttons to vote on the draft resolution on the results of the vote of confidence on October 25 afternoon. (Photo: VNA)

The resolution won support from 470 out of 472 votes, or 95.14%.

NA Chairman Vuong Dinh Hue said the vote of confidence, part of the ongoing sixth session of the 15th NA, was held in a strict, democratic, objective, transparent, and serious manner in line with Resolution No. 96/2023/QH15 on the collection and casting of votes of confidence on persons holding positions elected or approved by the NA and People’s Councils.

Earlier, the vote counting committee announced the results for the 44 officials subject to the vote of confidence. Submitting the proposed list of the persons subject to the vote of confidence, Nguyen Thi Thanh, Head of the board of NA deputies’ affairs under the NA Standing Committee, said that according to the NA’s Resolution No. 96/2023/QH15, issued on June 23 this year, the parliament will hold votes of confidence on those holding the following positions: the State President, the Vice State President, the chairperson and vice chairpersons of the NA, members of the NA Standing Committee, the NA Secretary General, the chairperson of the NA’s Council for Ethnic Affairs, the chairpersons of the NA committees, the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Ministers, ministers, other members of the Government, the Chief Justice of the Supreme People’s Court, the Prosecutor General of the Supreme People’s Procuracy, and the Auditor General of the State Audit Office.

Clause 5 of Article 2 in the resolution also stipulates that vote of confidence will not be held for officials who are waiting for retirement or were elected/appointed in the same year the vote of confidence is conducted.

Forty-nine people are holding the positions elected or approved by the NA at present, but five officials who were elected or approved in 2023 will not be subject to the vote of confidence, hence the list of 44. Those five officials are State President Vo Van Thuong, Deputy Prime Minister Tran Hong Ha, Deputy Prime Minister Tran Luu Quang, Minister of Natural Resources and Environment Dang Quoc Khanh, and member of the NA Standing Committee and Chairman of the NA’s Committee for Financial and Budgetary Affairs Le Quang Manh.

NA Standing Committee wraps up its 27th session in Hanoi
15th NA’s sixth session to open in Hanoi on October 23
15th NA's 6th session: PM Pham Minh Chinh delivers report on socio-economic development
15th NA's 6th session: VFF President presents report on constituents’ opinions, recommendations
15th NA's 6th session: Lawmakers mull over solutions for Mekong Delta

(Source: WVR/VNA)